IASPM Journal_reviewers and Reviews Editor


IASPM Journal is looking for a new Reviews Editor. The role is open to all qualified members and ideal for an early-career researcher to learn about journal editing and publication. Each year, the journal publishes two issues, and the Reviews Editor oversees the entire process from submission to publication. We work as a collaborative team and the Reviews Editor will be supported by the core editorial team, who meet regularly. Please send all enquiries to Abigail Gardner at agardner@glos.ac.uk


We are looking for reviewers! IASPM Journal seeks new reviewers to help with the review process. We are especially interested in hearing from a linguistically diverse group of scholars. Email agardner@glos.ac.uk for details.

We look forward to hearing from you,


Popular Music Books in Process series

Call for Presentations, Popular Music Books in Process Series, October 2022

Dear friends,

Since spring of 2020, Popular Music Books in Process has curated online events for music writers, journalists, and scholars to showcase new books or works in progress for an engaged, interactive audience. The series (now running every second week, in season) is a collaboration between the Journal of Popular Music Studies, the Pop Conference, and IASPM-US. There have been 75 events so far, all preserved on YouTube.

Continue reading

2023 IASPM BOOK PRIZE – Call for Nominations

2023 IASPM BOOK PRIZE – Call for Nominations

Dear IASPM members,

A public award will be given by IASPM for outstanding first books by a single author on popular music, in the categories English and any other language, at the2023 Minneapolis IASPM conference.

Nominations are invited from IASPM members of books they consider to be possible contenders for such an award. Authors nominated should preferably already be members of IASPM, or need to become members of IASPM after being nominated, in order to be eligible. Send your nominations to both of the Chairs of the Book Prize Jury, Andrea Dankić (andrea.dankic@gmail.com) and Ali C. Gedik (cenk.gedik@gmail.com)by November 7, 2022 at the latest. 

Continue reading

Update regarding the position of Chair of IASPM International

Dear members,

On 20th May we emailed to advise that, following the Chair of IASPM stepping down from his position, the Executive Committee of IASPM would be operating on a collective basis to deal with a number of urgent matters. These include: the upcoming international conference in Daegu, Korea; an ethics investigation into the sexual harassment allegations that have been made; the construction of a code of ethics for our members; and a social media policy.

Continue reading

New MA PopMediaCulture at Paderborn University

Dear Colleagues,

sorry for cross-posting, please have a look at our new international master’s program “PopMediaCulture – German-Latin American Cultural Mediations” starting at winter term 2022/23 at Paderborn University/Germany:



Executive Committee communication

Dear members,

In light of Rupert Till’s resignation as chair of IASPM, the Executive Committee wants to report on temporary operating measures while we decide how to find a new chair. Given the wide range of urgent tasks that need to be solved, as an emergency measure, the Committee members decided to take on the tasks of the management collectively. We will operate as a collegiate body where individual members will be responsible for specific tasks. This will give us time to work on very urgent matters that require our immediate attention, including the Daegu 2022 international conference that will happen in 5 weeks, the ethics investigation into the sexual harassment allegations, the construction of a code of ethics for our members, and a social media policy. As explained in previous communications, these tasks are being addressed most seriously and professionally, including hiring a sexual-violence consultancy firm to develop the investigation and creating an ethics committee to establish a code of ethics and other protocols to avoid repetition.

In the meantime, we will explore options for deciding on a new chair. We have begun talking to members who have been involved in similar situations in the past when Chairs have not completed their term to find out what was done then and how well it worked. We will keep you informed of any decisions made and invite any input you might have into this.

Chris Anderton (treasurer)
Andrea Dankić (Member-at-large) 
Ali C. Gedik (Member-at-large)
Beatriz Goubert (General Secretary)
Kimi Kärki (Web/Publications)
Keewoong Lee (Daegu Conference representative)
Andrew Mall (United States Conference representative)
Bernhard Steinbrecher (Membership secretary)
Catherine Strong (Member-at-large)