Book Prize


Award: Noel Lobley, Sound Fragments: From Field Recording to African Electronic Stories (Wesleyan University Press, 2022). 

             Special mention:

            Shanté Paradigm Smalls, Hip Hop Heresies: Queer Aesthetics in New York City (NYU Press, 2022)

 Award: Nathanel Amar, Scream for Life. L’invention d’une contre-culture punk en Chine populaire (Presses Universitaires de Rennes, 2022). 

            Special mentions:

Anna Cuomo, Faire carrière dans le rap aug Burkina Faso: Une anthropologie politique (Les Presses du Réel, 2022).

             Pascal Rudolph, Präexistente Musik im Film (edition text + kritik, 2022).

2023 Book Prize – Meet the Authors

2023 IASPM Book Prize Report


Previous Winners of IASPM’s Book Prize

Award: Kyle Devine, Decomposed: the Political Ecology of Music (MIT Press, 2019)

Award: Ádám Ignácz, Milliók zenéje. Populáris zene és zenetudomány az államszocialista Magyarországon (Rózsavölgyi és Társa, 2020)—popularis-zene-es-zenetudomany-az-allamszocialista-magyarorszagon/139483624

 Award: Bodo Mrozek, Jugend – Pop – Kultur. Eine transnationale Geschichte (Suhrkamp, 2019)

Award: Jacopo Tomatis, Storia culturale della canzone italiana (il Saggiatore, 2019)

Award: Viriya Sawangchot, Rock Suksa. Suntreeya, Kanmuang, Peuntee

Special Mention: Mark Burford, Mahalia Jackson and the Black Gospel Field (Oxford University Press, 2018)

Special Mention: Klisala Harrison, Music Downtown Eastside: Human Rights and Capability Development through Music in Urban Poverty (Oxford University Press, 2020)

2021 Book Prize – Meet the Authors:

2021 Book Prize Jury’s Report

Award: Owen Coggins, Mysticism, Ritual and Religion in Drone Metal (Bloomsbury Academic, 2018)

Special Mention: Matt Brennan, When Genres Collide: Down Beat, Rolling Stone, and the Struggle Between Jazz and Rock (Bloomsbury Academic, 2017)

Award: L. J. Müller, Sound und Sexismus — Geschlecht im Klang populärer Musik (Marta Press, 2018)
Iván Iglesias, La modernidad elusiva. Jazz, baile y política en la Guerra Civil española y el Franquismo (1936-1968) (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas, 2017)

2019 Book Prize Jury’s Report

Award: Jeremy Wade Morris, Selling Digital Music, Formatting Culture (University of California Press, 2015)

Award: Berenice Corti, Jazz Argentino: La música “negra” del país “blanco” (Gourmet Musical, 2015)

2017 Book Prize Jury’s Report

Award: Simon Zagorski-Thomas, The Musicology of Record Production (Cambridge University Press, 2014)

Special Mention: Stephen Amico, Roll Over, Tchaikovsky! Russian Popular Music and Post-Soviet Homosexuality (University of Illinois Press, 2014)

2015 Book Prize Jury’s Report

Award: Matt Stahl, Unfree Masters: Recording Artists and the Politics of Work (Duke University Press, 2012)

Special Mention: Richard Osborne, Vinyl: A History of the Analogue Record (Ashgate, 2012)

2013 Book Prize Jury’s Report

Award: Barbara Lebrun, Protest Music in France: Production, Identity and Audiences (Ashgate, 2009)

Award: Yusuke Wajima, Creating the Myth of “Japanese Spirit” (Kobunsha,

Special Mention: Eduardo Viñuela, El videoclip en España (ICCMU, 2009)

Award: Karen Collins, Game Sound: An Introduction to the History, Theory, and Practice of Video Game Music and Sound Design (MIT Press, 2008)

Award: Koizumi Kyoko, Youth Wearing Music: The Pleasure of Putting On and Taking Off

Award: Celine Cabot-Canet, Léo Ferré: Une voix et une phrasé emblématiques (L’Harmattan, 2008)

Award: Ralf von Appen, Der Wert der Musik: Zur Ästhetik des Populären (transcript Verlag, 2007)

Award: Anne Danielson, Presence and Pleasure: The Funk Grooves of James Brown and Parliament (Wesleyan University Press, 2006)

Award: Manuel Monestel Ramirez, Ritmo, canción e identidad: Una historia sociocultural del calypso limonense (EUNED, 2005)

Special Mention: Lee Marshall, Bootlegging: Romanticism and Copyright in the Music Industry (Sage, 2005)

Special Mention: Wendy Fonarow, Empire of Dirt: The Aesthetics and Rituals of British Indie Music (Wesleyan University Press, 2006)

Award: Joseph G. Schloss, Making Beats: The Art of Sample-Based Hip-Hop (Wesleyan University Press, 2004)

Special Mention: Rehan Hyder, Brimful of Asia: Negotiating Ethnicity on the UK Music Scene (Ashgate, 2004)

Award: Regina Sweeney, Singing Our Way to Victory: French Cultural Politics and Music during the Great War (Wesleyan University Press, 2001)

Special Mention: Jeroen De Kloet, Red Sonic Trajectories: Popular Music and Youth in Urban China (Amsterdam School for Social Research, 2001)

Special Mention: Lise A. Waxer, The City of Musical Memory: Salsa, Record Grooves and Popular Culture in Cali, Colombia (Wesleyan University Press, 2002)

One thought on “Book Prize

  1. Pingback: IASPM Book Prize 2021: Meet the Authors - Varassi Pega - WritePlaceBlog

Comments are closed.