Update regarding the position of Chair of IASPM International

Dear members,

On 20th May we emailed to advise that, following the Chair of IASPM stepping down from his position, the Executive Committee of IASPM would be operating on a collective basis to deal with a number of urgent matters. These include: the upcoming international conference in Daegu, Korea; an ethics investigation into the sexual harassment allegations that have been made; the construction of a code of ethics for our members; and a social media policy.

Updates on these and other matters will be forthcoming over the next few weeks, but at the present time we would like to confirm our intentions with regard to electing a new Chair for the organisation, and to offer our thanks to Rupert Till for all of the work that he undertook on behalf of the organisation during his time as Chair.

We will be launching a call for applicants in September. This will be followed by a vote of the membership (details to be provided closer to the time). The successful candidate will be ‘Chair-elect’ pending ratification at the next IASPM General Meeting, which will be held at the 2023 international conference in Minneapolis, USA.

Those interested in the role should note the following role description:

The Chair oversees all administrative and governance matters and works closely with national branches to realise the organization’s aims and policies, and represents IASPM in interaction with other music and cultural organizations. The Chair convenes the General Meeting every two years at the international conference, including the presentation of a report of general activities and issues. She/he should be familiar with the IASPM regulations and statutes governing the organization’s procedures.

Chris Anderton (treasurer)
Andrea Dankić (Member-at-large)
Ali C. Gedik (Member-at-large)
Beatriz Goubert (General Secretary)
Kimi Kärki (Web/Publications)
Keewoong Lee (Daegu Conference representative)
Andrew Mall (United States Conference representative)
Bernhard Steinbrecher (Membership secretary)
Catherine Strong (Member-at-large)