2021 IASPM Book Prize

Dear IASPM members

A public award will be given by IASPM for two outstanding first books by a single author on popular music, one in English, the other in any other language, at the 2021 Daegu IASPM conference.

Nominations are invited from IASPM members of books they consider to be possible contenders for such an award. Authors nominated should preferably already be members of IASPM, or should become members of IASPM after being nominated, to be eligible. The nominations should be sent at this stage to the chairs of the Book Prize committee Felipe Trotta and Andrea Dankić (bookprize@iaspm.net) by 09 November 2020 at the latest.

When nominating a book, please provide the following details:

– Author, nationality, institutional affiliation

– Bibliographical information, including language and page count of the book nominated

– Confirmation of IASPM membership, including branch

Authors may either self-nominate, or other members may nominate authors and books they regard worth considering for the award. Please let us reiterate the criteria for eligibility:

– a single author

– a member of IASPM

– her/his first book (in any language)

Books nominated must have been already published and be on the market since November 1st, 2018, until October 31st, 2020. Before November 16th, 2020, the Chairs will announce by email the list of books accepted to evaluation. In order to be evaluated by the Book Prize Jury 2021, an electronic copy of each book must be sent by the publisher or the author before December 14th, 2020 to the Chairs of the Book Prize.

Important dates:

August 25, 2020 – Book Prize Call

November 9, 2020 – Nominations

December 14, 2020 – PDF’s sent to the Chairs

March 29, 2021 – First round evaluation

July 6–10, 2021 – Award announcement at IASPM Conference (Daegu, South Korea)

Please circulate this call within branches, and please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions about the 2021 IASPM Book Prize.

With best wishes,

Felipe Trotta
Andrea Dankić
Chairs of the 2021 IASPM Book Prize Jury