## 2015 IASPM Book Prize, Jury's Report

As announced at the beginning of last March, a public award is given by IASPM for two outstanding first books by a single author on popular music: one in English, the other in any other language.

Nominations were invited from IASPM members of books they considered to be possible contenders for such an award. Authors could either self-nominate, or other members could nominate authors and books they regarded worth considering for the award.

Books nominated had to be already published and be on the market since January 1st 2013, until December 31st 2014.

The jurors for the 2015 IASPM Book Prize were: Sarah Hill, Philippe Gonin, Rachel Haworth, Christophe Pirenne, Carlos Sandroni, Oliver Seibt, Marcello Sorce Keller, Martha Ulhoa, Eduardo Vicente and Franco Fabbri (Chair).

Six nominations were received for books in English, and three for other languages (all in Brazilian Portuguese). Each of the jurors (chosen according to linguistic competence) had to write a report on one of the received books, and a general critical overview on all contenders.

All reports were received by the Chair before the beginning of the Campinas conference. According to their contents, it was decided not to award the prize for languages other than English. This is the synthesis of the report of the Portuguese-speaking jurors: "A Comissão Especial para avaliação dos livros concorrentes ao IASPM Book Prize não considerou nenhum deles como apto à premiação."

The jury recommends again that the next prize be announced earlier and especially that branches circulate the relevant information more effectively, in order to have a larger participation both in the 'other languages' category and in the English category.

As for the prize for first single-authored book in English, the jury agreed to award a Special Mention as well as the main Prize. The jury also wishes to acknowledge the high level of this year's contenders in the category: each of the books was nominated at least once for the main prize.

The Special Mention was awarded to:

**Stephen Amico**, for his *Roll Over, Tchaikovsky! Russian Popular Music and Post-Soviet Homosexuality* (University of Illinois Press, 2014).

This is a comprehensive, detailed, and beautifully-written overview of the relationship between popular music and male homosexuality in post-Soviet Russia. Amico balances history, ethnography, and auto-ethnography with politics, media, and gender studies; the result is a deeply insightful, fully realized study. The author succeeds in perfectly balancing the experiential richness of ethnographic detail and the theoretical pervasion of the relevant textual materials that he explores by a hermeneutic approach but always

contextualized within his ethnographic findings, without ever silencing the voices of other interpreting actors. The current repressive Russian politics directed against LGBT people adds a political dimension and an urgency to the text that is another reason for awarding a special mention.

The main 2015 IASPM Prize for first book in English was awarded to:

## Simon Zagorski-Thomas, for his *The Musicology of Record Production* (Cambridge University Press, 2014).

The Musicology of Record Production is a clear, thorough, and engaging approach to a wide range of issues surrounding the relationship between musicology and recorded music in its broadest sense. Zagorski-Thomas writes succinctly, guiding the reader, via bite-sized chunks of text, through often complex theoretical territory. This is perhaps the book's greatest strength: the ability to convey complicated ideas with a minimum of fuss. Zagorski-Thomas' volume offers a passionate account of the benefits of integrating recorded music and record production into musicology. The desire to examine the connection between composer/performer/producer and the audience/listener is important and indeed suggests ways of rethinking the discipline of musicology as well as rethinking the primary source materials to be analyzed in the volume. What the jurors liked most about Zagorski-Thomas' book is the grand gesture and the nomothetic claim of his endeavour. The engagement with representation and the theorization of reception and its interconnectedness with production are particularly engaging and stimulating.

Franco Fabbri, Chair of the 2015 IASPM Book Prize Jury