IASPM EC Minutes (Meeting V)

August 16, 2018

Meeting of the Executive Committee, August 16, 2018 (8pm ECT), held by videoconference (Skype)

Present: Jacopo Conti (JC), Kimi Kärki (KK), Marta Garcia Quiñones (MGQ), Sílvia Martínez (SM), Antti-Ville Kärjä (AVK), Ann Werner (AW), Franco Fabbri (FF)

1- NEW IASPM CHAIR PROPOSAL

The EC members exchanged a large number of emails and voted two rounds in order to choose the best candidate to propose as a IASMP Chair. The results of the votes were summarised and displayed on a table sent by SM to all the EC members on 30th July. Franco Fabbri was the most voted option, therefore he was contacted on August 6th in order to assure he accepts this position. In this Skype meeting the EC confirmed unanimously the FF's nomination.

We took the decision to send as soon as possible a message to the international mailing list announcing the Julio Mendívil resignation and the election of FF as the new Chair. Previously SM should send to Mendívil the text drafted by MGQ in order to assure he agreed with the content:

"Dear IASPM members,

We would like to let you know that in July our Chair, Julio Mendívil, announced his resignation as IASPM Chair, due to personal and health problems, in an email sent to the other members of the Executive Committee. With deep regret the Executive Committee was forced to accept his resignation. We want to thank Julio Mendívil for his service as Chair since his nomination at the Kassel conference, in June 2017, and wish him a quick recovery.

In order not to delay all the pending tasks, particularly those related to the Canberra conference, the Executive Committee has followed the procedure established in the Statutes:

"9.4 Members of the Executive Committee may be re-elected. In case of decease or resignation of one of its members, the Executive Committee appoints a substitute pending the next General Meeting"

After much consideration and two rounds of internal votes the Executive Committee met 16th August on Skype, and decided to appoint Franco Fabbri as Chair until the Canberra conference, in June 2019, where an election will take place.

As some of you know, Franco Fabbri is one of the founders of IASPM, has organized two international conferences, and has been Chair twice, between 1985 and 1987 and between 2005 and 2007.

With kindest regards, IASPM Executive Committee

Jacopo Conti, Membership Secretary
Franco Fabbri, Chair
Marta García Quiñones, Treasurer
Antti-Ville Kärjä, Member-at-Large, and Liaison to the Local Organizing Committee of the Canberra conference
Kimi Kärki, Web/Publications
Sílvia Martínez, General Secretary
Ann Werner, Member-at-Large"

The meeting must be cancelled after the approval of the first point on the agenda due to Skype technical issues. A new one will be held within the next two weeks.