The international Association for the Study of Popular Music L'Association internationale pour l'étude de la musique populaire

V GENERAL MEETING PARIS, FRANCE, JULY 19, 1989 MINUTES

The Meeting was brought to Order at 3 p.m. by Peter Wicke, the General Secretary.

1. Election of Chair and Secretary for the V General Meeting

Philip Tagg was unanimously elected as Chair and Peter Wicke as Secretary.

2. Adoption of the Minutes of the IV General Meeting

These Minutes were unanimously adopted, and a vote of thanks was recorded to the outgoing Executive Committee.

3. Election of two members-at-large to Countersign the Minutes of the V General Meeting

Motti Regev and Graham Boone were unanimously elected to countersign the Minutes of the V General Meeting.

4. Election of Electoral Officers and Ratification of Election Procedures

Georgie Born and Alf Björnberg were unanimously elected as Electoral Officers. It was unanimously agreed that elections would be decided and motions carried by a simple majority of those IASPM members present at the V General Meeting.

5. Ratification of Agenda of Agenda for V General Meeting

The Agenda was unanimously ratified.

6. Acceptance of the Report of the Executive Committee 1987-1989

The Report of the Executive Committee 1987-1989 was unanimously accepted. i

7. Election of two non-committee (Executive Committee) members to audit the Treasurer's Report to the V General meeting

Nealy Bruce and Lars Lilienstarr were unanimously elected to audit the Treasurer's Report to the V General Meeting.

8. Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer's Report was unanimously accepted. It was observed by Charles Hamm that the Treasurer's report did not make reference to the real costs of running the organization, and that a solution to this Situation should be sought.

9. Membership Secretary's Report

The Membership Secretary's Report was unanimously accepted.

10. Changes to the Statutes and Rules of Procedure

The proposed changes, as presented in the Report of the Executive Committee, 1987-1989, were introduced by the General Secretary. After discussion as to the extent and nature of IASPM's international character as an organization, it was moved by Klevor Abo, seconded by Ralph Willett, that each branch be given only one vote on the Board of Representatives. The motion was passed. After discussion of the respective functions of the Executive Committee and the Board of Representatives it was the feeling of the Meeting that the Executive Committee should accept recommendations from the Board of Representatives in drawing up nominations for its successor. It was also the feeling of the Meeting that the interests of members without branches should be represented in the Board of Representatives by the General Secretary. The changes to the Statutes and Rules of Procedure as proposed by the Executive Committee were unanimously accepted by the Meeting with the addition of these amendments.

11. Location of VII International Conference on Popular Music Studies 1993

Charles Hamm indicated the willingness of the branch of the United States of America to form a Search Committee to locate a site for this Conference. This offer was unanimously accepted.

12. Election of Executive Committee 1989-1991

Simon Frith, Line Grenier, Paul Rutten, John Shepherd and Peter Wicke were unanimously elected to the Executive Committee 1989-1991.

13. Any Other Business

- (a) it was reported that Peter Winkler and Charles Brown Gould no longer continue as Editors of RPM. A vote of thanks to Peter Winkler and Charles Brown for their remarkable service to the Association as Editors of RPM. It was proposed by Stan Rijven that the branch of the Benelux countries take responsibility for the production of RPM, with the members of the Netherlands providing the facilities. This proposal was unanimously accepted by the Meeting.
- (b) the General Secretary gave a detailed report concerning the state of preparation for this Conference. The Meeting expressed satisfaction at the state of preparation, but re-emphasized that the preparations would not involve IASPM in any costs.
- (c) the General Secretary reported an agreement with a GDR publisher in terms of which the house Journal would be published and provided free to all IASPM members for the first two years of its publication in exchange for IASPM helping to establish the Journal as a viable commercial proposition and in exchange for the right to distribute the Journal commercially outside the IASPM membership. After a lengthy discussion about the principle of geo-cultural representation on the Editorial Board, it was moved by Dave Harker, seconded by Klevor Abo, that the Editorial Board be comprised of one member from each continent and the Publications Officer. The motion was defeated. It was agreed that in addition to the members nominated by the Executive Committee, membership of the Board (lohn Shepherd, Umberto Fiori, Jan Fairley, Jocelyne Guibault, Portia Maultsby, Helmut Rösing and Peter Wicke) should be kept open for any member of IASPM interested in joining it.
- (d) the Meeting unanimously agreed to send its best wishes to John Blacking.

14. Votes of Thanks

The Meeting unanimously moved a vote of thanks for the organization of the V International Conference on Popular Music Studies to Antoine Hennion, to Jean-Claude Klein, to the Interpreters, to the technicians and to the staff of La Musée.

15. Adjournment

The Meeting was adjourned July 20, 1989 at 1 p.m.

Respectfully submitted

Peter Wicke General Secretary